Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m lucky to have the sun shine right through my home. We got greedy with windows, and sometimes greed really does pays off! It’d be a pity not to have indoor plants with all the sunlight pouring in. Even if you have pockets of sunlit space in your home, indoor planters are a great way to decorate and oxygenate your home. However, no matter how great they look, I wouldn’t bother with planters without a drain hole; my experience is that plants will soon rot and turn smelly as the water has no place to go (even if it’s fitted with a sponge).

I’ve had my eye on these leather-strapped hanging planters for a long, long time. Aren’t they just fabulous? They don’t occupy much space and can be hung next to almost any window. Their shape reminds me of half-boiled eggs that have been bonked hard on the head!

indoor-gardening-hanging-planters-ideas-arrangement-porcelain-flower-pots-leather-strings

These wooden herb planters can’t be too hard to get made. What I particularly like about them is that each planter seems detachable. That’s very handy if you’re growing  plants that need the occasional trimming and pruning.

And another favorite! Combine wood, ceramic and rope, and you have the perfect planter. You could give it a nice twist by painting the pots in your favorite colors. Better yet, you could paint the rim of the pot (that’s above the wooden slab) with one color, and paint the rest in another!

 hanging-vertical-garden (1)

Remember floppy disks? Those extinct storage devices that would always crash when you needed them? These are definitely not the prettiest planters around, but they (and whoever made them) did put a big smile on my face. Well, they were the totally unreliable storage devices, no doubt, but they seem to have found their true calling as DIY planters!

Here’s a better DIY project that just needs a couple of jars, pipe hangers and wooden slabs. Mason jars are definitely one of the best things around the house to up-cycle, but I’m not sure if or how a hole can be drilled into a glass jar. So I  would substitute them with plastic jars that I can easily nail a hole into.

Not all plants like being home-grown; a lot of them need direct sunlight and just won’t adapt inside. You’ll find a lot of material online on the kinds of plants that can be grown indoors, but my advice would be to verify independently if these plants grow well in your climate and soil conditions. Go local, experiment a little and happy gardening!

