Tags

, , , , , ,

Have you every had to fight for the lowest racks on a shoe rack? Those are just the best, aren’t they? Most times, you don’t even have to touch your shoes to get them on or off! That’s partly what inspired me to look for shoe racks that can stay as low as possible, and then proceed horizontally! And for an idea like that, I realized soon enough that it had to be well-designed and space-conscious. What’s also very important for me is that it should hold almost any type of footwear – closed shoes, stilettos, flip-flops (believe, me there are some shoe racks designed just for closed shoes). I also believe that a shoe rack or any other form of shoe storage should afford your shoes ample ventilation, especially the ones that you wear often. Both your shoes and you deserves that. That’s how I stumbled upon the theme for today: wall-mounted, open shoe-racks.

This shoe rack from j-me is undoubtedly my favorite simply because of the painstaking design that’s gone into all its curves. Compact, minimal and keeps your shoes off the floor. And yes, they can be installed horizontally for miles! Yippee!

Image

And look what j-me seems to have inspired  DIY enthusiasts! It makes for a nice and easy project, but I have my doubts if flip-flops and other very flat footwear would balance properly.

Image

If you’re wary about the balancing act, then here’s a more conventional shoe rack that’s appealing and yet does its job just as well as the others.

Image

I hope you don’t reassess how lazy I can be when you see the next one. I mean, what’s more convenient that being able to sit on a bench and then to just tuck your shoes right underneath?! Why don’t we all just do that? 😀

Image

In my mind, there is just one place for a shoe rack. And that’s very close to the front door. I personally condemn taking footwear that’s been worn all day, and then storing it inside a cupboard or closet in the bedroom. At the risk of sounding like a cleanliness freak, I will say that I’d hate to sleep close to something that’s stepped on god-knows-what!

