Tags

, , , , , ,

If selecting the right door knobs can seem like a matter of life and death, then you and I are probably on the same, whimsical boat! For me, good door knobs should draw otherwise-hard-to-get attention towards doors and cupboards. The whole world moved away from boring metal or wooden door knobs, when ceramic ones suddenly rose to fame with their pretty, floral designs. They were surely a welcome break, but for me, they lost their charm when I was seeing them in every other hardware store. I still like them in ceramic, mind you, but I wanted to see something besides floral patterns. Something quaint, something that would catch the eye, even from a distance. But I didn’t want to experiment with shapes, considering it’s usually round for good reasons.

I have a strong feeling that men are going to love this one! It is, by far, the most innovative design I have seen on a door knob. Whoever had the imagination to think up something so creative and delightfully unexpected must be a bit of a genius!

Image

I’m not trying to gain male popularity here, I promise, but I feel strangely connected to them today! So here’s another handsome find, paying tribute to some apocryphal artistes.Image

And now for some pansy stuff (yes, I love pansy too!). I wish someone could give me a DIY lesson on how to cover door knobs with cloth like they’ve done so beautifully below. If it’s not too hard to do and re-do, I wouldn’t even mind that they’re inevitably going to get dirty. In fact, I’d probably consider myself lucky to have different door knobs for every season!

ImageAnd here comes another favorite. I know I said wooden door knobs were boring, but then I’m going to wiggle my way out with the fact that these aren’t just wood! Unless they come in different shades of wood, I might buy these first and then go shopping for a door to match! Oh c’mon! These exquisite door knobs deserve nothing less than the best!

ImageThe charm of black and white doesn’t just apply to photos, but works just as well with door knobs. I think these would stand out and stun on a dark, wooden door. And I have a good feeling about them on a chest of drawers because I can just picture them doing wonders with the contrast of colors.

Image

I try not to pick more than one photograph from the same source for a single post, but I must confess that I cheated a little today. And happily, too! See, it’s not my fault that shops on Etsy, particular this one, have possibly the best range of door knobs online. Vintage mostly, but such a very wide range that you really need some serious stamina to get to the end. So if you’re up for a door-knob-marathon, then click away!

