Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

A trail of websites and blogs led me to the world of stencil art today. It had me thinking about the limitless possibilities in which it could find its way into homes. Paper, cloth, wood, metal, ceramics are just a few mediums that take to stenciling. And stenciled walls? There’s so much I want to say about them, but I’ll save it for another post at another time!

Mint green. Gold. White. I would never have dared use these colors in the same sentence, let alone on the same piece of wood! This one photograph changed my whole perspective of wood and paint. From being vehemently against painting wood (and depriving it of its woodsy glory), I decided to make two exceptions to this rule – for bad wood, and stencil art like this! A few brilliant minds behind Design Love Fest stenciled three different designs into planks of wood, transforming them into the most gorgeous open shelves I have ever laid eyes on. And in my opinion, an art piece too! I would so love to show them off as drawer fronts – that would do truer justice to these beauties. Just think of how art like this could break the monotony of wood, say, in your kitchen.

Image

shelves-openingshot-styled

The next photograph is the best evidence I have seen of stencils and their reformative power. See for yourself how simple Chevron stripes  transformed a rusted iron desk into one that could fetch you many a compliment  in your house!

Image

I don’t think there’s a better way to add color to a kitchen, bathroom or even a reading corner with a pretty shelf like this from Lines Across. Notice how they’ve made it a tad more interesting to look at by keeping two sides stenciled, the insides yellow and other sides white. I have an old, boring white bathroom cabinet (of low-quality wood) that I’m now dying to do this to!

Image

And now if I’ve got you thinking that furniture is as far as stencils can go, prepare yourself to be blown away with what you’re about to see next! When Berlin sang their famous track, ‘Takes My Breath Away’, I didn’t know these stair risers were what they were talking about!

Image

And planters. Any plant would grow twice as fast if it only knew what its home looked like! The chalkboard used to identify the plants is pretty sweet too.

Image

If you’re tempted to give stenciling a try, here are few things to think hard about. Painting a piece of furniture and then changing your mind is painful. It will cost you either time or money to chip all that paint off for restoration. Also, have no doubt that stenciling is labor intensive; it is rewarding only for those who experience constant joy seeing the fruits of manual labor (or can afford to hire labor). If that doesn’t describe you or what your pocket can fetch, give wallpaper a serious thought. You’d probably be surprised to see the similar results it could get you.

