Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Beauty and functionality can co-exist. At least that’s what I’ve been discovering lately! And dish racks are no exception if you can look beyond the ugly metal ones. When I refer to dish racks here, I’m not talking about those that store plates (where you just stack plates one above the other) or which are purely decorative. I’m more interested in the ones that let you arrange the plates vertically to dry after a wash.

If you have a chance to build them into your kitchen, then you must definitely consider the one below sold by Riva 1920 as a part of their Only One collection. Absolutely stunning, isn’t it? I also think its placement is sheer brilliance as I couldn’t imagine it getting any more convenient when it’s right behind the sink.

ImageIf you still prefer wall-mounted racks for a good reason, then take a look at this beauty with hooks to dry cups and mugs too. If those suspenders are some kind of folding brackets as I suspect, then you might even be able to collapse the planks onto the wall.

Image

A more conventional design for inbuilt dish racks is an open shelf with vertical separators, like in the photo below. But I would probably skip the coat of paint and just show off every bit of good wood!

Image

Now if inbuilt dish racks aren’t an option at the moment, worry not! I’d bet my money on Progressive’s collapsible over-the-sink dish rack below. Use it, compress it, hide it. That seems to be the mantra! What I really like about them is the fact that the handles can be extended to rest over just about any sink. It’s probably best used that way, though, if you have the luxury of a double sink or a largish sink. If you don’t, they have a counter-top version (without the handles) of the same thing.

ImageIdeally, you should be able to reach your dish rack without having to move from the sink. In any case, when you’re trying to decide which one’s right for your kitchen, make sure that they can be placed as close to the sink as can be.

