Tags

, , , , , , , ,

There is no such thing as enough storage space. Unless you’re Graham Hill or one of his followers on Life Edited (I absolutely love the concept, but I’m not that zen just yet). So if you’re trying to squeeze in storage space everywhere you possibly can, seize the opportunity that beds present! I looked for beds that looked inviting, and yet tapped into potential storage space.Though they offer maximum storage space, I didn’t quite warm up to beds that open up entirely, like the mouth of a crocodile. I may be wrong, but I have my doubts about its practicality as they don’t seem very easy to maneuver. Given that it’s low-lying area to work with, drawers seem to be the most common option with beds and possibly the most convenient.

If you’r getting a bed with drawers, make sure they come with good quality ball-bearing full extension runners (the sliding mechanism). Believe me, they make a world of a difference to any drawer with their easy action, and their ability to maximize space and bear heavy load. Ideally, the space of all the drawers put together should cover the entire area under the bed, but I know this can be tricky business if you’re trying to build one on your own. There’s a bit of science behind balancing the thickness of runners, size of drawers and the weight they’re expected to bear.

Image

I love how a night stand has been built into the bed below. It also had me wondering if those ‘single touch’ or ‘one touch’ drawers from Hettich, Hafele and similar brands could be installed in beds. If it’s only about standard dimensions, I don’t see why not.

Image

Another option is to get beds with compartments to accommodate baskets. My only worry here is whether these baskets come in standard sizes. As they’re sure to wear out in time, I’d hate to hunt around everywhere just to get the size that fits.

Image

If you’re in no position to get a new bed, but won’t take no for an answer, consider this simple but helpful idea. Pretty wicker baskets on the sides of the bed will not only help organize your clutter, but can lend a nice, warm touch to the bedroom.

Image

Warning: As greedy as you are for additional space, I don’t think you should ever have to compromise on the look and feel of your bed just to pack in more things. Remember, there is nothing more important than years of good nights’ sleep on a comfy, cozy bed. Everything else ought to  be secondary.

